My drawings of Peter Capaldi and Jewel Kilcher

19 thoughts on “My drawings of Peter Capaldi and Jewel Kilcher

  1. Hi Matthew, I still “follow” you, don’t know why I have missed your posts. The other day I decided I need to come looking for you, my old blogging friend. Do you still do manual work? I am at my 7th year at the warehouse, am hoping to make it 3 more years and go out and find a less wearing job. Your artwork, drawings for friends are always amazing and show such warmth and even a sense of humor, too. Take care, Robin

    • Hey Robin. Thanks. 🙂 Good to see you. Sorry I’ve been out of touch. I do work in a carpet mill, but I’ve been laid off the last two weeks. Hence the drawing. I hope your job isn’t too bad. Maybe the next three years will be smooth.

    • Thank you! I don’t really do portraits as a business. I’ve had too many bad experiences with people nagging me to draw their kids and then not paying me. So I strictly do it for fun now.

      • You’ve got a great talent there. FWIW: I’d set up an online portfolio and promote yourself as a portrait artist. Online, you could attract clients from all over. Make your terms at least 50% of payment upfront to preclude no-pays. Just a suggestion– again, FWIW. : )

    • I’m thinking about trying this. I like the idea of charging half the money upfront so people won’t cheat me. Maybe I could just specialize in black and white face portraits. Charge $40 apiece on nice Bristolboard paper?

Leave a Reply

