How to Make an Artist Miserable

My new book is on Amazon now. The Kindle version will be free August 1 – 5. This one isn’t fiction. How to Make an Artist Miserable is a journal/essay/tirade about some of my frustrations as an artist — and how I’ve learned to overcome them. Like people assuming I work on a “for hire” basis and requesting giant portraits of their children, for example. Over the last few years, I’ve actually found a way to deal with those people. I no longer draw pictures I don’t want to draw. It’s very liberating.

You can click here to learn more.

20 thoughts on “How to Make an Artist Miserable

  1. People in Greensboro much more civilized and delightful than Miami. Father and I live together and have a son here. No real connections up here though and I have to read a lot and try to create little things for me do to.

  2. Congratulations, Matt. Well done on the book. Can’t wait to get my hands on the hardcopy version when it is out. It must be annoying when others have asked you to draw pictures of them – and I love you attitude to it all: just don’t πŸ™‚ Good luck with the sales πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Matthew…I’ll be looking for the Kindle version of your book in August πŸ™‚ I so totally agree with you about only drawing what you want to draw…it’s one of the thousands of reasons I never tried going commercial with my art…I didn’t want people telling me what to do. So I’m happy, happy for you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

