A new drawing

I haven’t drawn as much during the last two months because my new book has consumed all my creative juices, but I did sit down and draw a picture of Jesus this evening. Lately, I’ve felt the need to draw him.

My new novel is about halfway finished, I think. If everything runs on schedule, I think I will complete it by the end of September. I hope so, anyway. I feel really good about it. I think it’s a great story. I’m eager to publish this thing and let it fly out into the world.

I hope you have a great week. Thanks for reading.

15 thoughts on “A new drawing

  1. This is a wonderful drawing, Matt. Great shading as usual. I like how Jesus looks solemn yet encouraging at the same time. Two different emotions in in one face. Well done ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck with the book.

  2. My first thought was “Wow! you really nailed this! – then my thought turned to Jesus being nailed to the cross; suddenly the drawing had a whole new meaning! This verse came to mind – “Who his own self bare our sins in his own body on the tree, that we, being dead to sins, should live unto righteousness: by whose stripes ye were healed.” 1 Peter 2:24

  3. Great drawing, Matthew! I enjoy seeing different illustrator’s interpretations of Jesus. I can really see his kindness in your drawing. Have you drawn him before?

  4. The weight of the world is on our God and here is the physical proof in Jesus’ look. I cannot imagine how He feels, when He sees all the things that are going ‘wrong’ around the world. Matthew, this drawing touched my heart very much. I once (and only once) drew my own rendition of the Last Supper. It was quite a challenge, I painted it with acrylics and my Aunt and Uncle were given it as a gift, while I was in my twenties. My need to make the people of the proper ethnic heritage was my biggest challenge, Matthew…

Leave a Reply

