Fake plastic trees

Image

Image

Image

I stumbled across something today on the internet that delighted me and embarrassed me at the same time. One of my Facebook friends posted a real estate ad for a home in Las Vegas with a luxurious bomb shelter in the basement. The basement is actually an extra house with an “outdoor” area that features artificial grass and trees. I know I sound sick and demented for saying it, but I’ve always been fascinated with fake nature. (I think it started when I was a kid. There were certain rides at Disney World and Epcot that grabbed my imagination and never let go.)

Anyway, the underground bomb shelter with the artificial trees really amazed me because my book Under the Electric Sun is all about a vast bomb shelter beneath the ruins of Washington, DC. The two main characters, Jake and Tristan, often visit a place called Bailey ParkΒ — which is a room with a light blue ceiling and fake green grass … and artificial trees everywhere. I’m slightly embarrassed to know that somebody beat me to the idea back in the 1970s. But I’m mostly just thrilled to see photos of the world that I only thought existed in my imagination. If I had $1.7 million, I would buy this place and live in it.

You can click here to read more about the bomb shelter basement. And you can click here to listen to some relaxing music.

Β 

10 thoughts on “Fake plastic trees

  1. Fake trees…fake flowers. I prefer fake flowers over real ones (though I’m not much of a flower person) because they don’t set my allergies off. I prefer real nature though – there’s just something more vibrant about things that are natural. But I do think fake nature brightens up any place indoors!

    • I know what you mean. I prefer real nature too, really. But I think there’s something weird and funny about an outdoor scene, in an indoor environment, that doesn’t look the least bit real at all. It’s so bizarre and silly. And even though it’s obviously fake, I still admire the person/people who went to the trouble to make it. (I feel the same way when I look at the miniature scenery around little electric trains.) Sorry to hear you have allergies. That’s no fun! 😦

Leave a Reply

