Something else from the sketchbook

Image

I’ve had a wicked sinus headache all day, but I thought it was time to go ahead and write a new post. Lately I’ve been working diligently on my new novel and cleaning the house. I use the word “clean,” but I suppose the more accurate word would be “purge.” There’s something so glorious and satisfying and cathartic about walking through the house with a big plastic garbage bag, grabbing up handfuls of things I don’t want anymore and shoving them into the bag without mercy. It feels lovely to hurl one bag after another into the dumpster, freeing myself of all this stupid, needless clutter.

I’ve also been watching old commercials on YouTube the past few days, one of my favorite pastimes. The other day, I discovered some 1970s Burger King commercials that were designed for Saturday mornings, when kids were watching cartoons. They’re a lot of fun … in a grotesque, disturbing, psychedelic kind of way. I remember my cousin Troy telling me a long, long time ago that one of his friends had horrific nightmares about the Burger King mascot. Now I can see why.

The picture above is from my sketchbook. I drew it during Memorial Day weekend, in the middle of my epic Vsauce binge. This is supposed to be a picture of Michael Stevens. When I first drew it, I wasn’t happy with it. I thought it looked like the product of a genetic experiment involving James Lipton and Steve Jobs. (No disrespect to either one of them.) However, when I flipped through the sketchbook the other day and looked at the picture again, I decided I liked it after all. So here it is. Enjoy.

***

You can click here to download a copy of my science fiction novel, Under the Electric Sun.

28 thoughts on “Something else from the sketchbook

  1. As usual, you remember more about the things I told you when we were kids than I do. Still, good times.

  2. Hope you’re feeling better, Matthew! The picture is really good, as always, you’ve really captured the essence of him.
    As for the commercial, it’s amazing how many of these weird, creepy ads they made during the 70s and 80s! We had the same kind of thing appearing in the UK and they really were the stuff of nightmares! It’s hard to believe those involved ever thought kids would enjoy it. I think we were a guinea pig generation for a mass trauma programme, lol 😉
    Btw, I’ve been thinking about featuring some of my fav ads in one of my posts (great minds, huh?).

Leave a Reply

