Memorial Day doodling

Image

I had intended to spend most of my Memorial Day weekend working on my new novel. I did make a lot of progress on it … but I also spent huge chunks of time watching Vsauce, a YouTube channel devoted to geek culture. (One of the videos is featured in my previous post, the one about children growing up in outer space.) When I watch one Vsauce video, I usually end up watching four or five or six. It’s like eating candy out of a bag, one piece after another. Even though I enjoyed watching all of them, a little voice deep in my head kept whispering to me, telling me I should be doing something more productive with my time. This little voice plagues me whenever I watching anything on YouTube, preventing me from fully enjoying the experience.

Earlier this evening, after I put the finishing touches on Chapter 3, I drew a picture of Jake Roper, one of the Vsauce guys. This is the latest drawing in my Moleskine sketchbook. I also attempted to draw Michael Stevens several times, but he always ended up looking like Steve Jobs or James Lipton. Oh well.

Hope you had a wonderful weekend.

As usual, you can click here to download a copy of my science fiction novel, Under the Electric Sun.

13 thoughts on “Memorial Day doodling

  1. Hi Matthew … no words for how talented I think you are. Btw, forget the guilt life is too short. Watch Vsauce.
    blessings ~ maxi

  2. great doodle!!! I’m about 3/4s of the way through “Under the Electric Sun,” I’m probably not getting all the symbolism and metaphors but I’m enjoying the read and the science fiction angle! I’ll probably have to read it again to discover what I missed the first time around 🙂

  3. It’s good to remember “the time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time” 🙂 but feeling guilty about not being useful or hard-working is so ingrained, isn’t it?
    Anyway, progress is progress and writers need time to allow stuff to gestate so who knows what valuable work your subconscious mind was doing while you let your conscious mind kick back for a bit!
    Another great post, Matthew, and loving the artwork as always 🙂

    • You know, that’s a very good point. It IS ingrained in our minds. Part of the reason I feel so guilty about “wasting time,” especially if it involves watching a TV show or a movie, is that I remember hearing the phrase “TV addict” a lot when I was a kid. I don’t ever remember anyone applying it to ME in particular, but I just remember that expression getting tossed around a lot. I formed the idea, in my young mind, that there’s something shameful about sitting in front of a screen and being entertained — and there certainly is something shameful about it if that’s the ONLY thing you ever do …. but TV isn’t a terrible thing, in and of itself.

      And it’s not really new either. Long before TV existed, people watched plays. (You’re more aware of this than I am, I guess, since the Globe Theatre is in your backyard … that is the name of the place where Shakespeare’s plays were performed, isn’t it? I’m only 97% certain of that.) But even before Shakespeare, the ancient Greeks entertained themselves with plays too.

      Anyway, sitting down and watching people act out a story is a natural part of the human experience. It isn’t a slothful, pathetic, freakish activity that began when TV came along. I have to remind myself of this and give myself permission to enjoy my downtime.

      Especially Vsauce. It’s educational, for crying out loud.

      Glad you like the drawing. I’ve been reading little bits of “Evertrue.” I love the way your characters talk. They have down-to-earth voices, which is funny to me (in a good way) since they live in a fairytale world.

      Hope you’re having a nice weekend.

      • Thanks, Matthew, I’m having a good weekend, I spent yesterday evening going round a classic American car show! Not my thing ordinarily but the beer tent served up some delicious JD&C and some fairly decent music 😉
        I think TV gets a bad press, as you say, even though it’s carrying the tradition of the theatre (you’re right about the globe theatre, btw. It’s about 75 miles from my doorstep but I haven’t visited it yet :-\). I think TV has had a good influence on the majority of people, ordinary people who got the opportunity to learn more about the world around them, though of course there is a fair bit of poor content out there 😉
        The internet seems to have taken the top spot now, which is great because people can guide their own viewing (toward YT and Vsauce, for example :-)).
        The educational aspect is a valid one, and so saying I think I’ll be checking Vsauce out for myself!
        Take it easy this weekend, Matthew, and enjoy your downtime with good conscience.

      • The car show sounds fun. Not my type of thing either — but sometimes things like that are interesting. I’ve had a pretty good weekend so far. Just finished reading a great book last night.

Leave a Reply

