Stacey Texting in the Rain

Image

In my previous post, I told you that I like to check into hotel rooms from time to time and draw all night while sipping coffee and listening to the “muzak” on The Weather Channel. In that post, I mentioned a pencil drawing called “Stacey Texting in the Rain.” I decided I would share it with you here.

In 2011, the day after Christmas, I took a photo of my friend Stacey standing in front of the gas station where she worked at the time. It was late at night and there were no customers, except me. She was standing under the awning, out of the rain, smoking a cigarette and texting.

A few days later, I went “camping” at the Motel 6 and spent the whole night drawing, working from the photo. I tried to capture the wet parking lot in the background, with the streetlights reflected in it, but it turned out looking like an ocean instead. Oh well. I’m still proud of it. It was featured in the Georgia Highlands College literary magazine, The Old Red Kimono, in 2012.

9 thoughts on “Stacey Texting in the Rain

    • Hey Bunny and Pork Belly! Sorry I’m just now replying to you. Somehow I didn’t notice your comment until a second ago. I don’t know how I missed it, but I did. Anyway, thanks! I LOVE your photography! 🙂

Leave a Reply

