My picture of Jesus

Image

Three or four times a year, I love to check into a hotel room all by myself and spend the entire night drinking coffee, watching The Weather Channel, and drawing. It sounds insane, but it’s one of my favorite ways to relax. I look forward to it with gleeful anticipation. I’ve always found hotel rooms so refreshing. There’s no clutter in them whatsoever. The bars of soap are brand-new and neatly wrapped. The towels and wash cloths are folded with robotic precision. And then there’s The Weather Channel, with its colorful maps and soothing elevator music. It never fails to put me in a calm, serene state of mind. (Unless they’re showing “Coast Guard Alaska.” That’s always a heartbreaker.)

I feel like I do my best writing and drawing in hotel rooms. I wrote part of my science fiction novel last year (a chunk of the first chapter) during a camping trip at the Days Inn. I also drew a picture called “Stacey Texting in the Rain” while I was staying at the Motel 6 in late 2011.

A few years ago, I drew this picture of Jesus in my sketchbook while I was spending the night at a hotel. I was feeling lighthearted and whimsical at the time, so I drew him in a cartoonish style. It isn’t intended to be disrespectful or sacrilegious. I love Jesus Christ with all my heart. Since I’m reflecting on his crucifixion and resurrection this weekend, I thought it was a good time to drag this picture out and post it.

 

“It was not long afterwards that he rose into the sky and disappeared into a cloud, leaving them staring after him. As they were straining their eyes for another glimpse, suddenly two white-robed men were standing there among them, and said, ‘Men of Galilee, why are you standing here staring at the sky? Jesus has gone away to heaven, and some day, just as he went, he will return!'”

Acts 1:9-11

The Living Bible

12 thoughts on “My picture of Jesus

  1. Great drawing! Even with the Holy Spirit living in us every day, it’s good to remind ourselves that Jesus will return visibly someday!

Leave a Reply

