One of the best scenes in “Doctor Who”

Image

I’m going to share a clip from my favorite TV show with you. Before I do, I need to give you some background. “Doctor Who” is a British science fiction series that began in 1963 and ended in 1989. It was known for its low budget and cheesy special effects. I fell in love with the show when I was very young and watched re-runs of it every Saturday night on Georgia Public Television throughout my childhood. I’ve never outgrown it. In 2005, the program came back with a bigger budget and high-quality special effects. I’m not ashamed to tell people I’m a fan anymore.

The program is about a mysterious old alien, known only as The Doctor, who travels through time and space in a ship that’s much bigger on the inside than it is on the outside. (It looks a little bit like a phone booth on the outside — but “Doctor Who” was around long before “Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure.”) Everywhere he goes, The Doctor saves planets and rights wrongs. He always has one or two traveling companions with him, and they’re usually from Earth.

Over the years, several actors have played the character. The second one, Patrick Troughton, is one of my favorites. This is a scene from an episode called “The Tomb of the Cybermen,” made in 1967. The Doctor is having a tender conversation with Victoria, played by Deborah Watling, who just began traveling with him in the previous episode. Victoria is dealing with the loss of her father.

People can snicker at the cardboard sets and the cheap special effects as much as they want, but the writing and the acting are beautiful here…

6 thoughts on “One of the best scenes in “Doctor Who”

    • I know what you mean. It seems like I heard that this episode was lost for a long time and then someone found a copy of it sometime in the 80s or 90s. I can’t remember. Maybe more episodes will pop up that way.

  1. I stumbled onto my first ever Dr. Who episode while surfing through our three channels late one night in the sixties – I tuned in just when the bad guys had the upper hand and were talking with those weird voices and threatening to annihilate everyone – scared me so bad it was a long while before I could watch it again!

Leave a Reply

